Holy moly!

December 10, 2012

I know, it’s been a while, right?  It’s been a crazy fall, and as Sue can attest, all my usual blog-time was consumed by preparing for my TEDx talk.  Did I also mention that I bought a motorcycle?  So there you have it, my interblogulation time was reallocated to writing, editing, and memorizing my talk; and to riding the bolts off my bike.  I lead a dichotomous lifestyle.  But I digress…

People often ask me, “What’s the weirdest tattoo that you’ve ever done?”  I usually tell them that it’s Leon’s tattoo of a penis fighting a vagina because there’s an immediate titillation factor, and most people love that idea.  Penis vs. Vagina is a timeless struggle that many can relate to – it’s like Democrats vs. Republicans, Jedi vs. Sith, Rocky vs. Apollo Creed.  It’s downright Jungian it’s so easily relatable.

Well, this past summer, I did a tattoo that could be even weirder.  I did a tattoo of a mole. No, not this mole.  This mole.

My friend David, who is an artist in New York City, came up here to finally get the tattoo that he had been talking about for over ten years.

The tattoo ten years in the making?  A tattoo of a brown mole.

Why?  David got it so that when people ask him if he has a tattoo, he can say yes.  When they ask what it is, he points to the tattoo.  They’ll say, “That’s a mole.”  He’ll then say, “No, that’s a tattoo; this is a mole,” as he points to a real mole.  Did I mention that he is an artist?

Mole2

I guess tattooing has gone meta-meta.  Getting a tattoo that doesn’t look like a tattoo but looks like a naturally occurring blemish? A tattoo that you can’t distinguish from the real thing?  Wasn’t this a deleted scene from the Matrix?

At least one more blog before the new year- I promise.